A Safe Place for Cutters Blog


Proven Steps to Stop Those Powerful Urges
September 13, 2009, 21:53
Filed under: Tools

SocratesA young woman who is a member of my private group for cutters in Facebook* wrote to tell me how proud she was that she had not cut herself for three months. I love to hear stories of progress and asked her what had helped her stop cutting herself for so long. She replied that outside of having been hospitalized for that amount of time she was not sure. An alarm went off in my head. If you do not understand why you do a certain behavior or why you have stopped for a period of time you are doomed to repeat it. As the ancient Greek philosopher Plato once said, “Know thyself.” It is really important that you understand yourself in order to stop a self destructive behavior.

In an earlier blog, I discussed my use of the Chain Analysis of Behavior with my individuals at the state hospital. On my resource page, you will also find a taped interview of me discussing this. This is a great way to learn why you do what  you do and what helps you to stop behavior that harms you and sets you back. It is not a one time use of it that will make the difference but the repeated use of it over time. In other words, every time you cut yourself, don’t beat yourself up. Look at it as a sign that there is something you need to learn and do a Chain Analysis. Over time you will come to understand yourself better and better.

Another ancient Greek philosopher, Socrates once proclaimed, “An unexamined life is not worth living.”

To A Life Worth Living,

Foresteen Forbes, Psy. D.

*If you would like to be a member of my Facebook group “The Safe Place for Cutters,” please find me on Facebook and invite me to be your friend. Click here!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

