A Safe Place for Cutters Blog


Did You Know that Exercise Can Reduce the Urge to Cut?
July 24, 2009, 11:00
Filed under: Borderline Personality Disorder, Coping Skills, self-harm, Tools

ExerciseOne of my assignments at the State Hospital where I work is running an exercise group. I used to take the individuals to the park on the hospital grounds and have them walk around it at least twice which is about a mile. Oh, the moans and groans I would have to endure as I insisted they get up off the grass, where they were spread out like fleshy mushrooms, and get moving. I felt like a cruel taskmaster.

Today, an individual told me that she remembered how she had hated it when I persisted in my efforts to get her to walk around the commons. However, over time she began to enjoy the walks and noticed some delightful benefits that included: weight loss, increased energy, motivation, and self-esteem and much to her surprise in a decrease in her urges to cut herself.

Exercise, does have an antidepressant effect making it another important tool for your toolbox.

To A Life Worth Living,
Foresteen Forbes, Psy. D.

*If you would like to be a member of my Facebook group “The Safe Place for Cutters,” please find me on Facebook and invite me to be your friend.  Click here!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hello my friends.

To the moderator: Please know I am NOT trying to steal ANY of your friends or anything of the sort. Please know ALL I wish to do is share what has happened to me personally in my life. I hope you allow this to be posted. If not please let me know so I can explain further. Thank you.

I would love it if you folks would take the time to watch my personal testimony of my fight with Bi-Polar disorder, Maniac Depression, Multiple Personality Disorder and a host of other LABELS I once had.

I’m NOT selling anything or trying to get you to join anything. ALL I wish is for you to have a chance to see and hear what has happened in my life and my families life.

If any one wishes to contact me and ask questions or whatever I am here for you all as well. I do NOT wish to take anything away from this extremely helpful website, so please do not think I am trying to do that. Everyone needs to see there IS hope for people like us. I am living proof of that, thanks be to God. Here is my YouTube Profile: http://www.youtube.com/user/RealityCheckMin

On the right click the “See All” of my videos and start with the first one called: “Ronald Godwin’s Insane Testimony 01”

Again, feel free to ask any and all questions, leave comments and so forth. I will do my very best to try to answer them. You can email me personally if you like at: rcmintv@gmail.com

Until then Thank you and God bless.
Chaplain Ronald Godwin

Comment by Ronald Godwin




Leave a Reply

