A Safe Place for Cutters Blog


Managing Urges that Come at 03:00 Part 8
July 13, 2009, 07:00
Filed under: Borderline Personality Disorder, Coping Skills, self-harm, Tools

0300 AM So far in my “Managing Urges” series, we have covered the following ways of coping: helping others, distraction, releasing anger, channeling emotion, changing the moment, spirituality, facing the problem head on.

But what works at 03:00 when you have a strong urge to cut yourself?

I asked Paige S* this question, ” since she provided most of the material for my previous blog posts for the series I figured that she might have an answer.

Paige replied, “For the person with urges that happen at 3 am I suggest maybe listening to some happy music maybe reading a book to get their mind off the feeling or really anything that can distract them”. I would add that you get completely out of bed and don’t even try to sleep, as  focusing on the urge and/or the insomnia will only make the situation worse. Just expend your energy on distracting yourself.

For more ideas on the use of distraction, see my earlier post on the subject.

To A Life Worth Living,
Foresteen Forbes, Psy. D.

*If you would like to be a member of my Facebook group “The Safe Place for Cutters,” please find me on Facebook and invite me to be your friend. Click here!

Business Coaching
[http://digg.com/health/A_Safe_Place_for_Cutters_Blog]

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

