A Safe Place for Cutters Blog


Letting Old Friends Go
April 22, 2009, 07:00
Filed under: Uncategorized

Sometimes we wake up one day and find that people whose company we once enjoyed are in actuality toxic for us. P. K. wrote in response to my blog “Voices from the Past” (4/15/09), “…I’ve also had to distance myself from friends… that way I realized my life is so much better without my ex best friend :O She loved me and I loved her, but she wasn’t helping me at all.”

This brings back memories of a friend I had back in high school. We had been friends since the eighth grade. I found her to be witty, bright and creative. Over time, as my self-confidence grew, I began to find her caustic and biting humor (always at my expense) to no longer be humorous. One day she threw a dead worm at me. She knew that I HATED worms. It was the last straw. I had a sudden awareness that she was not really my friend because a true friend would never treat me like that.

Ironically, I still run into her at reunions now and then and she has tried to reconnect many times (even on Facebook) but that cutting wit is still there and I no longer allow toxic people in my life.

toxic-people

To a life worth living,

Foresteen Forbes, Psy. D.


*If you would like to be a member of my Facebook group “The Safe Place for Cutters,” please find me on Facebook and invite me to be your friend.  Click here!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

