A Safe Place for Cutters Blog


Voices from the Past
April 15, 2009, 08:00
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

In response to my blog post “Feeling Like a Victim the Second Mortal Mistake.” (3/24/09) Tara G. commented, “Thanks for writing this. I know I’m too hard on myself but I am so trying to be positive it’s what Jesus wants me to do. I try to view myself as HE views me but it’s so hard when the tapes of so many people’s words to you and much more from your past are playing in your head.” Tara is right. It is very difficult to get bad thoughts and images out of our head. It will take some practice.

You have to focus on replacing negative thoughts with positive ones. There are a number of ways to do this. One is to eliminate negative people in your life. If people are tearing you down instead of building you up distance yourself. Some people feel an obligation to old friends and hang on to them no matter what. But as you grow you will out grow certain friends and it is ok to let some go. Another way is to pay attention to the movies, music and books you read as they will impact your mood.

In an anger management class that I was teaching at my hospital, one of my patients said that my class made him to decide to reduce his use of swear words because he found that swearing creates a negative environment. He had come to this conclusion himself as I had never discussed swearing.

Generating positive thoughts will take some time as it takes awhile to even recognize the negative forces in our lives as we have become so accustomed to them. Eventually, it will become easier to replace negative thoughts with positive ones but as with building any new habits it feels impossible at first.

To a life worth living,

Foresteen Forbes, Psy. D.

*If you would like to be a member of my Facebook group “The Safe Place for Cutters,” please find me on Facebook and invite me to be your friend. Click here!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

