A Safe Place for Cutters Blog


Feeling Like a Victim the Second Mortal Mistake
March 24, 2009, 21:04
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

I spoke about negative thinking in my last blog.

 

Negative thinking has a number of offspring one of which is feeling like a victim. That is people with a malevolent or negative worldview take a victim stance, seeing life as a continuous succession of problems and a process of unfairness and oppression. They don’t expect a lot and they don’t get much. When things go wrong, they shrug their shoulders and passively accept that this is the way life is and there isn’t anything they can do to make it better.

 

I am reminded of one of my former individuals (state hospital term for patient) T. C. who was discharged recently. Last summer she was in my walking group and I would highly suggest (ok, I admit that I took on the tone of a drill sergeant left over from my days as a navy nurse) that they walk around the park at least twice which would be equivalent to a mile. Miss T. C. would whine and moan, complaining bitterly. “Dr. Forbes, I can’t walk that far. I have a lot of medical problems and you can’t expect everyone to be the same. You’re cruel Dr. Forbes.” Once she realized that the cigarette break didn’t start until everyone had been around twice, T. C. managed to muster up enough energy to drag behind the rest of the group.

 

She was on a stroll with me and some others a few weeks ago and I was amazed at the difference. She was full of vigor and leading the pack. It is amazing the energy that comes from empowerment. More on that later.

 

To a life worth living,

 

Foresteen Forbes, Psy. D.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

